Not giving up, Crash dieting and apologies

Posted: October 27, 2015 in Uncategorized

Hey Sculpters,

Let me start off by saying that I’m not here to give excuses. There are a myriad of reasons why I haven’t been doing my blog, but I won’t get into those, because regardless of their legitimacy, I still see them as excuses. My first blog post (link) gave an impassioned argument about the famous sculptures by MichelangeloĀ and I made a promise to a friend that I would not let my goals or this blog turn into a mirror of Michelangelo’s unfinished work. I intend to keep that promise.

Let me first apologize to all of you who invested in this blog and were patiently waiting for a new post only to be disappointed. I truly am sorry and as a partial recompense I have something for one of you if you make it through to the end of this post.

Here are a couple of dogs lifting weights. They’re so cute you couldn’t possibly stay mad at me!

As I move forward, I am committing to two posts per week (this post does NOT count as one so expect two fresh posts), with extras if I have the time. Sure it will cut into my Kuroko no Basuke binge but the people deserve this blog.

Now let’s get into the meat of this post. If you read my Slow and steady – Part 1 post (here) I talked about the benefits of losing weight slowly versus crash dieting. However, there are times when crash dieting is both necessary and beneficial. In his book, The Rapid Fat Loss Handbook: A Scientific Approach to Crash Dieting, Lyle McDonald (who is one of very few legitimate and scientifically fueled voices in the mire that is the health and fitness community) mentions the following reasons:

  1. Losing weight to compete in a bodybuilding competition if necessary to reach goal weight quickly or previously side-tracked
  2. Other athletes who need to quickly get into a particular weight class (think wrestler/powerlifter who wants to compete in lower weight class for competitive advantage)
  3. A rapidly approaching special event (brides/grooms take note)
  4. To kickstart a more moderate diet
  5. He then outlines a few more which he regulates to an “Other” category

But hey, categories 2, 3 and 4 sound suspiciously like they fall right down my alley.

Which, unfortunately is NOT Crime Alley.

I previously was attempting to lose weight slowly for many great reasons and I still think it is the better option in the long term. But as an athlete (bahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha) having fallen off the bandwagon yet again (don’t ask why. I said I’ll not be providing any excuses) my goal is now to lose weight before my 30th birthday on January 8th after which time I will be either doing another stint on the crash diet to get super lean or start a more moderate diet (see categories 2, 3 and 4 above. Bodow.)

Let’s be clear here. I am not going back on what I said in my Slow and steady post. I still believe in that method for losing weight 100%, however, like all things, there are times when you can compromise when your goals shift or something has happened to throw off your original plan.

Even if that “something” is your own self.

It happens.

In yet another allusion to Michelangelo, there have been times when even the great renaissance artist found fresco paintings to be too difficult and recorded his failures (link). He didn’t put down the brush for good until his hands were shaking so much that he couldn’t hold one.

Keep Chipping.

Oh hello…you made it to the end valiant reader. Thank you for having faith in me and my blog. As a small token of my appreciation, if you re-post and then comment here, I will select one person for a US$10 Amazon gift card, which I will email to you before the week is out. You have to leave a comment though so I can have a pool of people to select from, and sharing the post would give me a sample size of more than five people. I appreciate you all!

Comments
  1. stephirock says:

    Glad to see you’re back! Looking forward to reading more posts! šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. […] Source: Not giving up, Crash dieting andĀ apologies […]

    Like

  3. Lesedi says:

    Great piece. Hope to see you break this down as it goes. More people need to know how this works in a practical sense. Also Stephanie 2015.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. theinnocentj says:

    Well hope you reach your goals.

    Like

  5. Well I hope you know I was gonna share and leave a comment regardless! No matter the obstacles, you push past them I always know you will become better than any goals you set for yourself! I look forward to seeing your posts and hearing of your progress! Keep it up big bro!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jibril K Dow says:

    Another great post my friend! Proud of you for sticking with it, even though it was seemingly a late post etc etc etc. What’s your target weight to reach before your 30th b-day? And will the next post have in detail, the steps to this crash diet? Looking forward to more. You’ve always been good with words and such.

    Like

  7. shikagen says:

    Thanks for getting the blog to 18 visitors guys! I appreciate all the shares and comments and as promised the prize will be delivered by the week’s end!

    Like

  8. Patiently awaiting the bulking posts.

    Like

  9. More batman gifs!!!!!! Glad ur starting back

    Like

  10. 1. Batman is the bombdiggity.
    2. Glad to read that you’re not giving up!!! I didn’t think you would. I’m excited to read about your progress and learn more from you! Keep working hard June! You know we yo cheerleaders *shakes pom poms in de air*

    Like

Leave a Reply

